Header Ads

Just In

Osinbajo, others for Captain’s tourney in Abuja

Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, His Royal Highness, the Ooni of Ife, Oba Enitan Ogunwusi and the minister of petroleum, Ibe Kachukwu are among dignitaries expected to grace and tee-off at the grand finale of the annual Captain’s golf competition slated for IBB Golf and
country club, Abuja tomorrow.
The Ooni of Ife is the royal father of the day during the event.Outgoing Captain of the club, Okey Igwe‎ who gave the indication however attributed the slow development of the game of golf in the country to the prevailing economic recession and the absence of government and private sponsorship of the sport.
Okey who also dismissed the notion that “golf is a game for the elite” said it has become difficult for individuals to bring out money for sponsorship of the game because of the downturn of the economy.
He lamented that big companies including Julius Berger, Shell and PW among others have stopped providing fund for the game because of the downturn of the economy in the country.
“If the big companies can stop ‎funding tournaments because of the downturn of the economy, then you know fully well that it is very difficult for individuals to bring out money for sponsorship,” he noted.
He said the situation will continue until the economy improves. Meanwhile, beginning from tomorrow (Wednesday), players are expected to participate in the various activities lined up for the Captain’s cup ahead of the competition including a golf competition to be played by the Pros of the Club, Inter Club friendly match play, Tennis Tournament among others.
A member of the organizing committee, Dr Lambert Agugua said the Captain’s cup signals the close of club’s activities for the year as well as the tenure of the outgoing Club Captain, Chief Okey Igweh, who was elected for the post around this time last year.
Agugua also said there would be an award night to be attended by prominent personalities including the Minister of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) Bello Mohammed, Minister of Sports, Solomon Dalong among others.


No comments